Quality of Teaching4.974.974.974.974.97
Value for Money4.974.974.974.974.97
Overall Quality55555

Andrew Benne

Since opening his first acting studio in 1989, Andrew Benne continues to be an extremely active force in Hollywood, coaching an impressive list of working actors for nearly two decades. His endless commitment to his work, and a genuine love for teaching, has earned him a reputation among actors that is unequalled in this industry. Having already studied with several prominent teachers – including Stanford Meisner, Stella Adler, Paul Sills and Tony Morina – Andrew began studying under verteran teacher Edward Kaye-Martin, for whom he began teaching in 1988. Branching out on his own a year later, he opened the celebrated Moment to Moment Studio in the heart of Hollywood, where, as Artistic Director for ten years, he developed and refined his own personal acting technique – taking the best of the various methods he had studied and combining it with his own new and innovative approach. The groundbreaking result – which he has come to call “The Work” – has been taught to hundreds of students over the years, a high percentage of whom have gone on to become successful working actors.

38 Customer Reviews of “Andrew Benne”

Review by Sheryl Kramer, April 28, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew Benne is an amazing private coach that teaches you emotional preparation that not only gets you the job but gives you what you need to deliver on set –especially when things change at a drop of a hat.

In addition to coaching in-person, he also offers Skype coaching which is innovative as it gives a true sense of what the camera will see. As video auditions are asked for more often by the industry this is true advantage.

I highly recommend Andrew both as a coach and human being. He is the coach to take you to the next level and not just work on material but true “role” preparation for your whole career.

Review by Martin McSweeney, July 9, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew is a superb teacher and coach. He has that rare combination of confidence and humility that he brings to every class. He’s a consummate professional who respects the individual, yet never hesitates to challenge the actor with very specific aspects of the work. He’s VERY thorough. He doesn’t teach just one technique exclusively, he teaches YOU. He has a wealth of experience to draw upon: Meisner, Hagen, Adler, theater and film. He knows his stuff. He’s done this for about 25 years.

Andrew makes you take responsibility for your own work. Whatever your area of growth needs to be, he will provide you just the right challenge and plenty of encouragement to find your way. And when you do, you will find your confidence on your own. If you are committed and dedicated, you will learn how to do this work on your own. You will learn the craft of acting in a very thorough manner.

His classes are a safe place to take risks. I like to tell him that his classes have a “contagiousness of daring”, that’s what I like about them.

There’s no doubting Andrew’s undying love for the discipline that is acting. If you share that love, he is the teacher for you.

He also just so happens to be a very likable guy, which makes him so very easy to work with.

Review by Mike Duong, October 25, 2013

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Andrew Benne is one of LA’s finest acting coach! I’ve studied with many other schools as well, but I always felt a strong connection with Andrew’s teachings. His moment to moment class work helped me develop a great foundation. His attentiveness to each student’s needs showed how much he’s vested in our growth. Andrew is not a push over. He challenged me with specific characters and interpretations. Learning how to break down a scene and doing it in different ways was key in my ability to book roles. He was able to get me to open faster than all the other teachers. I would highly recommend him. Proof is in the pudding. When you attend his classes, you always work along with actors who are series regulars and/or have booked movies roles.

Review by Donna Willinsky, October 26, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have worked in the television and film industry for nearly twenty years and I’m thrilled to recommend Andrew anyone who takes their acting career seriously. Andrew creates a safe, open environment where actors can make mistakes or try something new without fear of feeling foolish. His love of acting shines through his coaching and his insight and encouragement bring about incredible transformation. I’ve witnessed this first hand and simply can’t say enough about this truly gifted and patient teacher.

Review by Gali Kroup, November 2, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’mm so honored that Andrew Benne coached me at the acting school I was attending. I\’ve studied in other schools and many coaches but Andrew is, by far, the most invested one. His passion for acting is to be admired! His unique ability to identify the little things, can make ant actor jump to the next level. Andrew is like an x-ray machine when it comes to \”diagnose\” actor\’s strengths and weaknesses. And he\’ll sure lead you to the best place possible! I loved his intensity and dedication to his students. I highly recommend Andrew, he\’s the best coach, period.

Review by Shonna Major, November 6, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve never had a teacher put so much thought, time, and energy into his students. In the first three months of being taught by Andrew, I have learned so much about the craft and about myself then in the past 5 years at any other studio. Before, I was anxious and unsure about what I could bring to the table or even how to get there. Andrew is a phenomenal teacher who isn’t afraid of pushing you to your limits. If you truly care about your craft and get a chance to work with Andrew, please do. I feel more confident not only in myself but in the fact that I have been taught by a great teacher who I can reach out to freely.

Review by Irene Muzzy, November 18, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew Benne continues to be one of the great gifts of my life.My first “lucky break” was to study with him as an actor which became a challenging and glorious experience for many year’s .My second was to be guided and supported by him as an acting educator .Andrew is passionate,brilliant,inspiring,profound,genuine and caring,and has a true integrity for the work. A unforgettable Master Modern Meisner Teacher.

Review by Michael Magid, November 18, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew is arguably one of the best acting coaches I’ve ever had the pleasure to work with. His utter dedication to the craft and teaching can not be measured. Because of Andrew I not only grew as an actor, but as a person as well. His ability to teach how to be “improvisationally” free within written scene work is amazing. What’ s best about working with Andrew is that not only do you feel he is passionate about improving your performance, but you as well. He’s much more than just an acting coach. He’s a brilliant writer, director, and performer in his own right. I highly suggest you audit one of his classes and get to experience his skill for yourself!

-Michael Magid

Review by Marie Andersen, November 18, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have been acting for about 4 years and I have never had a teacher/coach like Andrew Benne, he has awaken something in me that I have never felt before as an actor. This is a teacher/coach who will push you to your limits and teaching you to not be afraid of coming out of your skin and showing the world your true talent. He’s passionate and thorough and I respect him very much as a mentor and as a person. When I’m in class I get to explore new things about myself as a person and as an actor :-) Thank You Andrew for all that you do!

-Marie Andersen

Review by Brittany D'Amico, November 20, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

“After not having any acting training for years, Andrew’s class confirmed for me that acting was what I really wanted and needed to be doing with my life. He has never ending knowledge and an ability to see right through you – he calls you on your shit in the best way. He guides you in unlocking parts of yourself you’ve been holding hostage, parts of yourself essential to being the most authentic actor you can be. I am forever grateful for the training I received from him and only regret not being able to take his class longer. “

Review by Shondalia White, November 20, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew is a fantastic Meisner based acting coach who knows how to get you to the level of performance necessary to book the job and really live in the moment. I had him as a teacher here in LA and then hired him to be my coach various times after in 2013. Can’t wait until he returns to LA so I can hire him again!

Review by Chris Straeter, December 3, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

There is a lot I could say about Andrew, but here are a few amazing things that I have seen happen in myself and my classmates while studying with him.
You’re going to learn a lot about yourself – Andrew is very perceptive and great at reading body language. He will call your behavior and figure out your blocks. He will help you make friends with your “baggage”.
Live truthfully in the imaginary circumstances – His credo is “This is Really Happening!” By NOT rehearsing scene work you are able to live freely and in an improvisational manner…you know, like real life.
This man cares about his students more than any other teacher I’ve worked with or audited in LA. I’ve never felt more cared for and safe in an acting class as I did in Andrew’s. How can you really take chances and fail if you don’t feel this way about your class?
All of these points are key to developing a sharp instrument.
Andrew’s class is a fun environment where you will, without doubt, become a confident actor.

Review by Connie Chiarelli, December 5, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew Benne is a tremendous acting coach and an expert in the Meisner Technique. I was transformed in a year from a non working actor to a busy working actor thanks to Andrew who taught me generously how to be ‘in the moment’. He coaches you to find out who you are as an actor and gives you the tools to GET THE JOB!

Review by Joan Elizabeth Kennedy, December 13, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

There comes a time in the career of an artist that one can feel a deep, passionate knot deep down in the gut, but can’t seem to unravel the dormant talent. Such was my journey when I wandered in to Andrew Benne’s class. During my introductory class I observed his senior students produce work on a first rehearsal so moving that even my most critical mind could not find fault, and I have been Andrew’s student (and biggest fan) ever since. In Andrew’s workout classes students can expect to challenge themselves, stretch the limits of where their acting had previously gone, and finally produce their most exceptional work. Just when I thought I had reached my limit, Andrew (in his charming and unassuming way) helped me unravel new talent in myself, and I have gone into auditions and jobs more confident than I ever have.

Mediocre has never been an option, when we the students take the stage we are going to find truth and vulnerability.

I also discovered a family of actors just as generous to their cast mates and dedicated to the craft as I found I was. What has resulted since is a career I have carved out of the hard work and fun I learned in Andrew’s class, and a community that has stuck by me throughout this phase of my journey.

Pseudo-celebrity wannabe’s need not apply. Hard working, dedicated actors ready to be awesome…well, welcome to an incredible journey!

Review by Paul E Respass, January 5, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

When I first met Andrew, I had already studied the Meisner method for several years. I was interested in his teaching because I saw the sucess of his students and felt I needed a “break through”.
In my first class, I noticed immediately the differance of his approach. Andrew is able to identify and work on the actor’s “blocks”. He identified in me words that affect me, he showed me moments I missed, and he taught me to trust my instrument. He taught me preparation of the character deeper than I had known. “Where was I prior to the scene”, “where am I going”, “how do i feel about my partner and being in the scene”, “what causes me to even speak my lines”.
I met others in his class who were approaching thier craft in the same way as I. This opened avenues of networking I hadn’t anticipated. Andrew has taught many sucessful actors and directors. Anyone interested in exploring the craft deeper and find thier “inner voice” would be hard pressed to find a better mentor than Andrew. I consider him not only a coach, but also a friend who takes interest in the achievements of current and past students.

Review by Chris Shumway, January 8, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew’s methods are extremely therapeutic and thought provoking. It is amazing what you learn about yourself. He turns your weaknesses into strengths and positively affects the way you think and work your craft. His lessons carry over into your everyday life as well . Andrew has challenged me in more ways than I can express with the results being that I am a working actor. Andrew Benne is a truly gifted being and I feel privileged to know him as a teacher, coach and friend. His teachings are invaluable and I highly recommend Andrew to anyone whether you are a beginner or an A-Lister.

Review by Jenifer Mohler, January 13, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

“I loved working with Andrew! With his coaching, I learned more about my personal strengths and creative blocks, and was able to move along my path to fulfillment. The time I spent working with Andrew was a life-long value.

Review by Christine Barger, January 14, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew is a wonderful instructor. I’ve watched him coax less experienced actors out of their shells with a soft kindness, while on the other hand he will tell me like it is (which is exactly how I learn). I have rarely seen an acting coach or instructor that can really adjust the way they interact with students based on the students needs quite like Andrew. He’s a wealth of information. He has the experience with Hollywood that it takes to teach “real world” knowledge. I highly recommend him.

Review by April Matson, January 21, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I don’t even know where to begin. I’ve known Andrew for nearly 14 years. It would be an understatement to say that I was “lucky” to cross paths with this incredible life force that happens to be the best acting teacher. Ever. First of all, I have no doubt that I would have never deepened my love for the art of acting had it not been under the influence of Andrew’s wisdom, commitment, passion and utter respect for the craft. Moreover, I can confidently say that his guidance and support taught me discipline and focus so that I was able to actually make a living doing it, and with conviction. To study with a teacher with an integrity that matches his talent is one of the most encouraging, humbling and exciting experiences an artist can have. If you really want to do the work, be challenged, have your life changed, your mind blown, if you never want to stop growing or learning – if you really want to be an actor – he’s your guy. If you’re in it for anything else – don’t waste his time.

Review by Kira Reed Lorsch, January 29, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I never considered myself a real actor. That is, until I became one in Andrew Benne’s class. Having had a career as an actress and host in front of the camera, and a writer/producer behind the camera for almost 20 years now, I believe Andrew has helped me prepare for any creative project that has come my way. Whether it be replacing a cast member in a movie with 2 hours notice, prepping for a role that scared the **** outta me, taking the stage to demand the attention of a rowdy charity event crowd, successfully surviving reality TV, or engaging and interviewing all kinds of people from all over the world – even the downright bizarre ones – what I learned in Andrew’s acting class has been invaluable. With no nonsense exercises like Raw Moments (don’t worry you don’t have to breathe through your eyelids or “be a tree” or other such nonsense) I discovered how to be present, listen and react wholeheartedly, in any situation, using my own truth. Andrew’s scene study teachings helped me further my skills of breaking down a script and making a character my own. Not just making choices on paper and in my head, using my well played out tricks, but actually translating all the “homework” into honest action …into acting. Anyone wanting to dive in 100% to be the best actor they can be will benefit from having Andrew Benne on their team.

Review by Aaron Peirlo, January 29, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I began taking class with Andrew back in 2000 and I’m very happy that I did. He gave me the foundation that I still use to this day. He helped me ground myself in the moment and become emotionally free in the scenes I worked on. There are many layers that an actor has and Andrew is a pro when it comes to helping you peel them and expose the raw talent that is within.

-Aaron Perilo

Review by Norma Maldonado, February 5, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have had both the pleasure and the honor to study with Mr. Benne for many years in the early to mid 90’s. He has an incredible eye for the truth and demands nothing less from his actors. He himself is a passionate gifted actor and storyteller and through his gift he enables the actor to find the truth moment to moment. He created scenes that would take us out of our heads and force us to deal with what we had in front of us. This was a marvelous foundation to take our wrk to the next level. It got us living in the imaginary circumstances and dealing with said circumstances in a real and natural way. From here we could apple the same principles to the written script. I have used his techniques time and again for auditions and when I am shooting. I have been very grateful for the amazing tools Mr. Benne has given me and these tools have helped me successfully work and make a living solely as an actress for the past 20 years. The biggest thrill is reporting to set and seeing some of my former classmates working on the same project. I am thrilled that Mr. Benne has returned LA and look forward to coming to his classes once again. One should never fine tuning and working on one’s craft if one wants to continue working. I can’t wait to see the next level Mr. Benne will lead me to.

Review by Francisco Rodriguez, February 9, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I first came to Los Angeles back in 2004 and started looking for an acting coach, once I found Andrew my search was over. Seeing he’s approach to the Craft and the commitment that he has for he’s students is like no one else. If your looking for an amazing coach/teacher look no further Andrew is you man he will give you the foundation you need in these crazy career we have chosen!

Review by Brett Wagner, February 9, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have over 65 major acting credits in tv and film the last 15 years of my acting career..But i had no idea how to really act until I wandered into Andrews class years ago. I learned so much about myself and gained confidence in my ability as a actor I never had before. I can walk into a audition now with the tools I learned in class and own that room. I don’t care if there is 30 producers and the head of a network in their staring me down. Andrew will free your mind up to become what you want to be…..A working actor.

Review by Jave Griffin, February 9, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

My greatest personal struggle as an actor has always been trying to disappear into a role well enough to make my own self vanish. Working with Andrew, my initial goal was to further develop that ability. It was my surprise that Andrew had little-to-no interest in allowing me to do such a thing. ‘You are enough’. He repeated this phrase over and over to me during my first couple years of studying with him and I continually ignored it thinking to myself ‘why would anyone want to see me?’ This ideological battle between us finally reached a climax during one performance when, while giving notes, Andrew said ‘I don’t see YOU in this character’ to which I replied ‘that’s my goal… I don’t want people to see me’… to which Andrew stood up and threw down his notebook and said ‘that makes me want to quit teaching! That you would deprive people of seeing you when you have so much to say!’ I share this moment to highlight how Andrew is completely invested in the success and development of each of his students. He takes your development personally– very personally. He strives to bring out the best in every student that enters his studio. It’s one thing to teach actors how to be better actors… it’s a whole different level of investment that Andrew brings by teaching actors how to be better artists and craftsmen. Working with Andrew taught me to finally trust that ‘I am enough’ and to step out of the shadows and stop hiding my flaws and my perceived ugliness and to embrace the beauty of my own self. He is an incredibly gifted and compassionate guider, teacher, philosopher, coach, and artist.

Review by Lisa Hammert, February 10, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

“I think back often and fondly of my two years studying under Andrew Benne. For me, Andrew’s insights were valuable and long lasting. Often it would be days later after class and something Andrew said would click. I loved that! He pushed us to find answers to the problems we had in performance. It really stretched me and I had a lot of breakthroughs in his class. Andrew provided a very trusting environment and showed a big kid enthusiasm when he loved something. I highly recommend him. You will not leave his class untouched. “

Review by Sona, February 10, 2014

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

The strength of Andrew’s coaching lies in his high levels of sensitivity and perception. Andrew is able to pinpoint an actor’s blocks with precision. He’ll then patiently work with an actor to overcome those blocks. His passion for the craft is obvious in the innovation he brings to each workout – be it a new type of exercise, a new way to practice raw moments or a fresh perspective on scene work. To this day, I think of the detailed analysis Andrew taught me to bring to each scene; question every moment and know the specifics of each action and motivation.

Andrew will encourage you to seek the truth and will question you when you turn away from it. I’m very grateful for the time I spent studying with Andrew. He’s a fantastic coach.

Review by Cat Forrest, February 11, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I had the rare opportunity to take a 3 month crash course with Andrew in the “This is Really Happening” experience while he was in San Diego. It was amazing! I read a few of the reviews written about him and realized there was a similarity in thought — emotional freedom in a safe place.
I have studied with some excellent acting teachers, but I felt an immediate connection with Andrew. Being in a ’scriptless’ environment, whether it be in Raw Moments or in an activity, I felt total freedom in my emotional life — it felt like flying!
He is dedicated to his students, passionate about the craft and humble about his abilities. Do not Fear learning about yourself and overcoming your baggage. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Check him out!

Review by Meghan Becker, February 11, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew Benne was literally born to teach actors. His gift of looking into every student in his class and giving each and every actor the individualized and focused attention is evident. I had the opportunity to study with Andrew Benne for over a year. During this time I began to treat my acting as a true craft. My perspective on self and how others view me matters when it comes to acting! Andrew taught me this.

As a student in Mr. Benne’s class you will experience a structured freedom. Everything is specific! I have seen first hand the amount of work Andrew Benne puts into each of his student. No matter what your level or experience in acting he will target what you need to work on in the most creative and intentional ways. You will hear him request passion, courage and commitment from his students..these are all things I have a renewed strength in. I will forever be his student because his voice will continue to teach me always.

Review by Halbert Bernal, February 11, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew or as some of us veterans call him Andy is not only an extraordinary human being but an inspiring and truly gifted teacher/coach as well as an actor. I was fortunate to have met Andy back in the early 90’s and had his guidance when I was starting my journey into acting here in Los Angeles. Twenty years later, I as well as many of his students from way back are what you call working actors. Thanks to Andrew and the foundation and skills that he helped us acquire and build for ourselves we have been able to take on each opportunity with confidence and trust. In his classes what I remember most was the camaraderie and hard work amongst the students. We were supportive of each other and pushed each other out of our comfort zones with the guidance, knowledge and supervision of our teacher Andrew. I am thrilled that he is back and starting yet another school in Los Angeles. If you are looking for a safe place to learn, refresh, tweak or simply play with like minded people while being inspired and taught by a man whose instincts and knowledge go way being his years, then give Andrew Benne a call. If you are as lucky as so many of us were, you too will be touched by an angel. That was kind of corny but true and I’m sticking to it!

Review by Adam Drescher, February 12, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve been a working actor for 35 yrs and have been fortunate to work with many reputable teachers along the way. The real development of my craft came when I had the great opportunity of working with “Andy” back in the days of his Moment to Moment Studio. It was a great class of students that impressed me from my very first audit. His unique insight and patience with each individual instilled in me a trust and affection that inspired me to get out of my head and into the moment, and that continues to guide me in all I do. The immediacy of the exercises and the truth that came out of the improvs and scene work made them, to this day, some of the best work I’ve ever been a part of. The tools you gain from Andrews’ techniques will serve in whatever media you are involved in. The basics of listening, doing your homework, creating a backstory, and creating relationships are truly universal and act as a strong framework for all of your work. The bottom line is that Andrew remains the standard by which I judge all other teachers and I would not hesitate to jump at the chance to work with him again or recommend others to make full use of his knowledge, understanding, experience, and generosity. In my book, he is one of a kind.

Review by Jennifer Scibetta, February 13, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I found Andrew’s classes while still living abroad, when acting was still just a far fetched dream. Within 2 weeks of returning to the US I was enrolled in Andrew’s classes and finally discovering what Raw Moments were all about. Full of self doubt I forced myself to keep showing up and Andrew poked and prodded and gently nudged me out of my own way. I was literally transformed. Andrew sees into the soul of the actor. He knows when you are lying to yourself and to others, and he finds a way to bring truth, your truth, to all that you do. By using custom tailored improvs and Meisner influenced preparation Andrew taught me more about who I am than a lifetime of “self-help” books and therapy. Afterall, we cannot begin to understand another person’s intentions until we fully understand ourselves, for it is our unique perspective that we bring to a role. Within four months I was auditioning for the first time and got the lead in a community theatre production and a supporting role in a short film. The greatest 2 lessons that Andrew taught me are: 1. I am enough and 2. If I could imagine all the negative reasons why I might not make it, then I can imagine all of the positive reasons why I can. Before each performance I remind myself, “This is really happening!” Thank you Andrew, hope to be back in your classes soon.

Review by David Shackelford, February 16, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

In being an Artist/Actor I believe that one needs to just be…this is how I stumbled onto Andrew’s class. Frustrated with the fluff of former acting classes I became dishearten, but then a friend recommend her coach to me, I sighed and it took me a year to actually commit to auditing the class. Within five minutes of auditing I was sold. Andrew’s stength, vulnerabiltity, and specific teaching to each Actor is what makes him not just a coach but a MASTER coach. His strong commitment to training the Actor on working within the imaginary circumstances, while being truthful and authentic speaks volumes. After joining class and working I began to let go of many of the blocks that kept me from what I cherish the most, My Authenticity and Truth. With his fine tunning and indivualize help I started to “trim some of the fat.”( Andrew’s words) I Strongly Recommend his classes… and look forward to continuing to strengthen my craft with his help… Just BE!

Review by Anthony Marquez, February 17, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I remember my interview with Mr. Benne when I began studying with him in 2005. I knew from the very beginning that he was the teacher for me. Andrew provides a safe teaching environment that allows his actors to grow in skill and confidence. He will also push them into territories that they are scared of, or unfamiliar with, which make them better actors as well. I attribute all my work to my time with Andrew Benne. He has given me the tools to break down scripts and characters that are essential for my acting career. He has made me an honest actor and has convinced me that I’m a dangerous leading man. Whenever a friend asks if I know of a good acting class, I immediately recommend Andrew’s.

One warning though: No Lazy Actors.

Review by Katy Pollock, February 17, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I met Andrew Benne when I signed up for 3 private lessons. I had been out of the class setting for a while and have to admit I was pretty terrified to get back in. From the moment I walked into his studio I felt like I was home. Andrew’s sincerity, honestly and heart came through right away. He told me that getting back in class is the fastest and best way to grow and have breakthroughs and he was exactly right. I started classes and found where I was meant to be. I could tell everyone there felt the same way. He creates an environment that is safe and open and allows you to explore and find things you never thought were possible. He helped me to break down emotional walls in such a way that made me wonder why they were up in the first place. He gives you the tools you need to be the best actor you can be. The preparation, raw moments, improvs and scene work all work together to lead you to your truth and give you the freedom to be authentic, open, vulnerable, raw and have the moments every actor dreams of. But his classes are not for the faint of heart. You have to be ready to work – it’s hard and it’s scary. But the reward is worth every minute of it and Andrew Benne will help get you there!

Review by Ali Kendall, February 20, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I audited a few acting studios around Los Angeles before stumbling into one of Andrew Benne’s classes. It was the first acting class I had been to where I felt I was completely safe to fail and yet challenged, emotionally and intellectually, at the same time. He has such an immense talent for identifying your strengths and your challenges and helping guide the way to self-discovery and growth, both as an actor and as an individual. I am reminded of how great my passion is for the art of acting each and every time I leave one of Andrew’s classes. I highly recommend him as a coach to any actor looking to build sustainable skills, confidence, and emotional range.

Review by Carmi Fellwock, February 21, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew is more than just an acting teacher, his care and advice, his kindness coupled with a demand for standard of perfection make him coach, a mentor and a friend. He gave me room to grow as an actor, to try new things and be open to change. He is always considerate of the performer and always looking for actors to really believe this is really happening. Thank you Andrew, looking forward to more Raw Moments!

Review by Stu Greenbaum, March 8, 2014

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Andrew Benne is a master at guiding students to discover new aspects of themselves and thereby become actors who are more honest, authentic and believable. I personally found that in the process, I also became more sensitive and emotionally aware in other areas of my life, because by better understanding and owning newly-discovered parts of myself I naturally gained a greater empathy for the experiences of others. And by learning to ‘get out of my head and into my body’, and to become attuned to the most minute expressions and emotions of my fellow students, the quality of my acting improved exponentially. Andrew expertly creates a safe (but tough!) learning environment where actors can be comfortable baring their inner essence, so as to create powerful performances that don’t just resemble reality, but ARE reality. Do not pass up the opportunity to study with Andrew – it will change your acting and your life for the better!

Write a Review of Andrew Benne

Quality of Teaching
Value for Money
Overall Quality